TPT logo

Your guide to theme parks in Orlando and beyond

 

Main menu

3 MORE Changes to My Disney Experience Now Live at Walt Disney World

No matter how you feel about the MyMagic+ system as a whole, it's undeniable that the advent of MagicBands and FastPass+ has fundamentally changed the way that guests spend their vacation time at Walt Disney World.

Even though this system had a somewhat troubled rollout back in 2013, Disney has been steadily making some really interesting changes to MyMagic+ over the past few years that have allowed guests to access this system's most often-used features more easily. Just a few days ago we detailed some of the changes coming to this system and since then, even more have been rolled out both at Disney's Hollywood Studios and elsewhere

1. FastPass+ modification restriction now in effect

Midway Mania Carts

Image: Disney

For several years now guests have had the ability to transfer FastPass+ reservations from one guest to another in their party, using the "Modify FastPass+" option in My Disney Experience. And while the vast majority of guests have probably only used this option once or twice to give a FastPass+ reservation to someone else in their party, a very select few have been exploiting this ability and "holding" FastPass+ reservations for others that they themselves were not intending to use.

In an effort to curb this type of behavior, this option has now been removed from My Disney Experience, and guests who make FastPass+ reservations are no longer able to give up their reservations to someone else. Instead, guests who need to make changes can only add guests to their party, and only if additional reservations at the same time are available. So, if for instance, you made three FastPass+ reservations for Flight of Passage at noon on a Wednesday, but you found out a friend will be joining you and you want to add him or her to the reservation, you will only be able to do so if FastPass+ reservations are still available for Flight of Passage in the general "pool". 

Though this change is definitely a little inconvenient, it looks like Disney is using the upcoming opening of Toy Story Land to test this new restriction and ensure that there are no ways for guests to claim or hold FastPass+ reservations they aren't intending to use ahead of time. And while its possible that Disney could walk back this feature in the future, it seems likely that this will be a permanent change. 

Go to page:

Pages

There are no comments so far.

Connect with Theme Park Tourist: